Date: 03/19/2010 Views: 3

Advancement through knowledge, skill, and understanding is important. By following the scouting program, each scout works toward a rank advancement, which requires him to learn new things and face new challenges in a variety of areas, including outdoor skills, citizenship, conservation and first aid, just to name a few. Each scout progresses at his own rate. In the lower ranks a scout follows a more rigid set of requirements, while in the higher ranks a scout is given a broader set of requirements. This gives him the ability to express himself and use the maturity and leadership skills he will have gained coming up through the ranks. Scouts also have the opportunity to explore interests and gain knowledge as they earn a variety of Merit Badges.

In addition to these areas of advancement, the scouts must demonstrate scout spirit, citizenship, and living according to the Scout Law and Oath for each rank. Often, this means the boys must volunteer to do projects in their communities and think about their lives beyond their home, school and community. In turn this allows them to really see and be a part of the world as a whole.

Advancement of Rank and earning Merit Badges are two of the most important activities carried out at each Troop Meeting. The youth and adult leaders will help provide direction and learning opportunities for those who want to advance to higher ranks. The senior Scouts work with younger Scouts during Troop Meetings and camping trips to help them complete the rank advancement requirements. Merit Badge Councilors offer a variety of Merit Badge workshops during the year. Additional Merit Badges can be earned at Boy Scout Camp during the summer or at Merit Badge College weekends during the year. Rank advancement depends on the individual Scout's commitment to the Scouting Program and his desire to achieve.

Troop Records

Troop 185 keeps a database of each Scout's achievements. This information is available to each Scout to help him plan activities for advancement. This database is updated on a regular basis. Please contact the troop's Advancement Coordinator using our contact form if you need a current copy of your achievements.


As a Boy Scout there are eight possible Ranks that can be achieved. Each rank has a specific set of requirements outlined in the Boy Scout Handbook.

  • Scout Badge (Joining Requirements)
  • Tenderfoot
  • Second Class
  • First Class
  • Star
  • Life
  • Eagle
  • Eagle Palms

A detailed list of requirements for each Rank can be obtained on this page of the US Scouting Service Project.

Merit Badges

There are a wide variety of merit badges that a Scout can earn. Scouts looking to advance to the rank of Eagle must earn 12 merit badges from a specific list of avaliable badges. The links below contain the requirements for each merit badge. The Eagle required badges are highlighted on the Merit Badge Requirements site.